Facilities

 

Chief McIntosh

Indian Springs Hotel
The Indian Spring Hotel was built in 1823 as an Inn by Chief William McIntosh and his cousin, Joel Bailey, who also operated it. In 1825, a two-story addition was built. The addition included the Tavern known as the Treaty Room and a large ballroom above it.

The hotel is unique and extremely significant to the history of the State of Georgia. It is the only known ante-bellum mineral springs hotel in Georgia still standing. It’s history yields much data on the culture, society, and architecture of Georgia throughout the 19th century. The Federal style architecture, hand-planed wide boards, wooden pegs, and handmade bricks clearly indicate an early 19th century construction date. The foundation was made of native stone. The alcove in the wall, where the treaty was signed remains intact.

Indians had been coming to the Spring for many decades prior to 1800. The believed in the medical qualities of the water. No permanent structures were built near the waters due to the fear that crying children and talking women would scare the “healing spirits” away from the waters. However, William McIntosh built a cabin here in 1800.
read more about this hotel and Chief McIntosh 


 
Indian Springs Chapel  The present building, a beautiful Queen Anne style structure stands today. The State Board was the largest donor to its cost, though its members contributed liberally.

This little church has been as the saving salt in the life of the community, and has furnished the opportunity for worship to many pious visitors in the village. It is valued for its real worth. All denominations attended its services and appreciate its ministries. The church records have been lost, so this sketch is only fragmentary and incomplete.

The Chapel was constructed from left over lumber milled for the Wigwam Hotel. The Wigwam was located on the ridge overlooking the mineral spring house at Indian Springs State Park.

  The Chapel contains the original kerosene light fixture, colored glass windows, and a brass bell placed when it was built. The bell in the tower has been tolled practically every Sunday since it was hung. The benches are much older than the church…
read more about the chapel


Flovilla Schoolhouse  In the beginning, the Flovilla school started in a small house owned by Captain Heard. Later, another school was constructed on the western edge of town and was also used as a church.

In 1884, the Flovilla School House was erected by a group of public-spirited men in a stock company, who established a fund. At first, Butts County did not provide the school with any financial aid. For support, the students paid $1 tuition per month in advance. It is not known when the county came into possession of the school, but the first record was found in 1917 with an enrollment of 60 students. In the minute book of the Board of Education for the years 1917-1928 enrollment was 75 students. The first teacher was Professor D.F.C. Timmons, from Monroe, GA, who was the Principal in the Spring of 1885. Students were enrolled from Monticello, Indian Springs, Cabaness, Juliette, and Forsyth.

Take a step back in time to 1885. Imagine when the girls in pinafores and the boys in overalls arrived for school each day to this vintage turn-of-the-century school room to learn the three “R’s” of reading, ‘riting and ‘rithmetic. Along with other required subjects the students were also taught piano, voice, art, expression, music, and violin.

Composition books, pencils & text books were provided by the school. The PTA sponsored Halloween carnivals & chicken dinners to raise money for other needs.

  All the two-seater desks with their sunken inkwells are the original ones that were used in the school. Carved writing by the students still remains on the desks.
read more about this school


 

Hawkes Building
The Hawkes Building was built in 1925 by funds donated by A.K. Hawkes. The restoration of this building will be accomplished by securing grant monies through a combined effort of the Butts County Board of Commissioners, and the Historical and Genealogical Societies. The main purpose of the building will be to provide a community facility where people and organizations could come, meet, research, and learn about Butts County History.

The Historical Society’s major function is to discover and collect any material which may help to establish or illustrate the history of the area: its exploration, settlement, development, and activities in peace and in war; its progress in population, wealth, education, arts, science, agriculture, manufacturing, trade, and transportation. It will collect printed material such as histories, biographies, descriptions, gazetteers, directories, newspapers, pamphlets, catalogs, circulars, handbills, programs, and posters, manuscript material such as letters, diaries, journals, memoranda, reminiscences, rosters, service records, account books, charts, and surveys.

The Genealogical Society’s main goals are similar in nature to the Historical Society with specific emphasis on family history and lineage. Their role is to collect, arrange, and publish old public records and cemeteries lists of past Butts County residents in an easy and understandable form for the researcher. In addition, the society’s goal is to educate and assist the researcher in their genealogical interest.

This joint venture will provide for the accessibility of the above, to all who wish to examine or study this material and cooperate with officials in insuring the preservation and accessibility of the records and archives of the County and of its cities, towns, villages, and institutions. Data received on the preservation of historic buildings, monuments, other sites, and markers is also amassed.

Plans include a Genealogical and Historical Library, a museum with the emphasis on Butts County history, an educational room where classes and lectures on the history and culture for our counties residents, and a multipurpose room for a community meeting room for the county’s non-profit organizations.